Author Topic: Script for FileCopy not working  (Read 2755 times)

Harvey Kliman

Script for FileCopy not working
« on: February 05, 2011, 09:17:36 AM »
I am a doctor, not a programmer. However, I do manage my own FM db. I am trying to script FileCopy. As easy at it seems to work on paper and with the demo, I appear to be missing something. Here is my script that does not work:

PCFM_FileCopy( filemac:/MacPro 5T/Documents/Writing/Research/EFT DBâ/EFT Report.pdf ; filemac:/MacPro 5T/Documents/Writing/Research/EFT DBâ/EFT Reports/ ; 0 ; Biopsy File::FileCopy new name )

I followed this pattern given by the plugin:

PCFM_FileCopy( SourcePath; DestinationPath; optFlag; optDestFileName )

with the first term being the full pathway to the file to be copied and renamed; the second term being the folder to copy to; the third term being fixed as 0 for the overwrite flag; the last term being a text calculation that renames the file.

Any thoughts on why this is not working? Feel free to email me directly.

Thanks,
Harvey Kliman, MD, PhD
Yale University
harvey.kliman@yale.edu

Melinda DePalma

• Productive Computing
Re: Script for FileCopy not working
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 05:16:54 PM »
The issue appears to be the file path format you are passing to the plug-in, which is "filemac:/MacPro 5T/Documents/Writing/Research/EFT DBâ/EFT Report.pdf" as this is not a valid file path format that the plug-in accepts (although this is the format that FileMaker uses). The path passed to the plug-in should be in one of the the following formats:

1) MountedVolume/path such as /"SomeMacHDName"/MacPro 5T/Documents/Writing/Research/EFT DBâ/EFT Report.pdf
2) Paths can also be user- relative (e.g., ~/Desktop )