Plug-ins > Outlook Manipulator

Drag and Drop email & attachment from outlook directly

(1/2) > >>

FM_new_dev:
G'day Guys,
I am a newbie to FileMaker development and ran into the problem of adding attachments to a container feld by direct dragging and dropping from Outlook.
Outlook Manipulator has already been purchased but not integrated yet. Any guidance is really appreciated.

Using FileMaker Pro Advance v 14, Windows 7, Outlook 2013, outlook manipulator v7.0

Thanks

Joshua Palmer:
Hi,

Welcome to the FileMaker development world,

I recommend opening the Outlook Manipulator Advanced Demo file, included in the Outlook Manip. download and running the script debugger. In the Manage Scripts, is a script titled "Extract Mail Records" which has a commented section for determining if there are attachments. The section where it pulls the attachment demonstrates how to insert the attachment into a container file from script. To simplify the steps, the procedure would be:

1. get the count to determine if there are attachments
2. for each attachment
    a. get the attachment name
    b. insert the attachment using the FM Script step "Insert File[]" using the attachment name, and the desired container field.

The rest of the script steps in that script are for housekeeping, and generally to make the process smoother.

The development guide that explains the plugin's capabilities can be found here:
http://www.productivecomputing.com/docs/docs_library/Outlook_Manipulator/Developers_Guide_Outlook_Manipulator.pdf

and the functions guide for the available functions can be found here:
http://www.productivecomputing.com/docs/docs_library/Outlook_Manipulator/Functions_Guide_Outlook_Manipulator.pdf

You could also consult with us by opening a Paid Support ticket here:
http://www.productivecomputing.com/data/Support_Products.pdf

Bernard De Jonghe: