Plug-ins > Change Printer

Change Printer Plug-in and Run Time Solutions

(1/2) > >>

John:
Hi Melinda,
I was speaking to Sandy from your office with a number of questions regarding the Change Printer Plug-In and she suggested I post my questions to the Forum.
I am a psychologist and have developed a run time solution for running a private practice, the Private Practice Manager, which I sell to allied health professionals through my company Custom Solutions for the Professional.
I recently purchased the Change Printer Plug-In and integrated it into my solution. It is integrated into the Start up file which automatically registers the plug-in to the computer it is installed on. A number of practical questions remain unanswered:
  1. What if my customer gets a new computer?
  2. What if my customer moves the solution from one machine to another?
  3. What if the customer returns the solution to me for some customization? I assume I would not be able to use the plug-in as it is registered on my customer's machine.
  4. What if I test a new solution before shipping, would that not register the plug-in on my machine, using up the license?
  5. What if a customer takes their laptop to a location without internet access, would that prevent printing?
  6. One of my customers has installed the solution on a remote server, which he accesses from a number of locations, would the plug-in work?
Most of my users are relatively unsophisticated and I want the use of my solution to be as seamless as possible.

Thanks for any input you can give.

Melinda DePalma:
Thank you for your patience and please allow me to explain the plug-in registration process.